And here we are… Monday.  Weekends just go so fast.  I love my job, but I also love spending time with my family.  But alas, here we are… Monday.

Today’s plan involved me making up the moved swim workout from Sunday as well as getting in the scheduled short run today.  I decided to get up early, attack the short run, then head straight to the pool for my short swim workout.  I guess I made it into a sort of short reverse brick workout.  A simple 26 minute run, followed by a short 26 minute swim.

I hope one day to be able to finish a full 5k in the allotted 26 minutes, but today I set a goal of running at a 10 min/mile pace for the scheduled time.  I once again took to the Upper Neuse Greenway for my morning run.  It was actually quite beautiful today.  There was a gorgeous sunrise to watch as I ran to the greenway, then a perfectly quiet paved trail to run on (only a few bunnies out that early).  Then on the return, there was a beautiful rainbow hanging out over the trees.  I couldn’t have asked for a better start to the day.  Heck, I even hit my goal for the run.  Not too shabby.

Then it was time for the pool.  I am sticking with the meter pool, rather than yards.  I need to continue to improve my swim fitness, so going that extra 9.x% each length couldn’t hurt, right?  My goal for the swim was to control my pace… slow things down a bit so I could go a longer distance.  Today was really just getting the kinks out, because my workout tomorrow morning is back in the pool and for double the time.  So after my 26 minutes were up, I packed up and headed home.

All in all – it was a good morning.  I love the sunrise run – the calm path to run on – and an empty pool to swim in.  How much better can it get?

And why is this titled “Bricks in reverse”?  Well, a normal brick workout would have a swim followed by a bike… or bike followed by run… but doing the disciplines out of order caused me to think of me doing the brick in reverse.

Loving it!

Today’s workout:

Plan: 26 minute run & 26 minutes in the pool

Actual: 22:04 run (@ 10:03) and 26 min in the pool (950 meters)

