The race is coming soon!  I am in the middle of a small taper (easy short workouts designed to keep you fresh for race day) as I inch ever so close to race day.   Taper weeks are not super important for someone doing a sprint race, but I am doing much shorter workouts this week as a way to make sure my legs are ready for Saturday morning.

Today I went to the Bedford pool (race site) to get in a short 500 meters before heading to work.  It was the first time I went to the outdoor pool while it was raining.  It is a strange experience to be in a pool while it is pouring, but without thunder/lightning there was no reason not to be there.  I was surprised when I got there though… this was the first time in all of my early morning swims that there was another person at the pool.  Actually, today… there were four others!   It was nice to have the company.

With only 500 meters to swim, the workout was pretty uneventful.  I got in… swam 10 laps and got out.  Simple.  Quick.

Tomorrow is a mini-brick (swim->bike).  Looking forward to that!

Thanks – Adam

Today’s workout:

Plan: 500 yard swim

Actual: 500 meter swim

