Today was my longest swim workout before my first tri in just 15 days.  I have been building up to this distance for weeks now and it is amazing that I am not intimidated by it any longer.  Looking back my swim workouts started at 400 yards… now I am finishing 1300 yards in the same amount of time!  I guess my ability has improved quite a bit over these 10 weeks.

I set out to do a 100 yard warm up, followed by 1×300 yard time trial, then 8x100y @ 1:55, followed by a 100 yard cool down.  Sounds simple enough, right?

I was pleased with my performance, although I still know I can do better.  By the end of my 8x100y sets I was only getting about 4 or 5 seconds of rest before going again.  At least I never went over that 1:55 mark!

This weekend I have my longest bike ride workout and my longest run workout before the tri… I am ready to attack those workouts and finish this difficult week of training.

I feel great – and I am loving this training!

– Adam

Today’s workout:

Plan: 1300y swim

Actual:  1300y swim

