Another Friday swim workout is in the books.  I set out to swim a cool 1200 yards today (200 more than the plan called for).  My plan was to swim a 300y set to start out with.  Why 300 yards?  Well, my first triathlon is a 300 yard pool swim in just over 5 weeks.  I wanted to see how I was doing against that goal.  I was very pleased… I swam the 300 yards in 05:49.  That is under the 2 minute per 100y goal I set for myself.  I was fairly spent after that set, but proud that I accomplished the goal.  What this tells me is that I could finish all three disciplines at the Gary Kirby sprint tri distance today.  Now the next 5 weeks will be spent on growing my distances, improving my fitness, dropping a couple of more pounds and increasing my speed.  I would love for my 300 yard swim on race day to come in at 5:30 or better!

The rest of the workout was spent doing 9x100y sets on 2 minutes.  I felt great, strong and fast.  I think swimming is quickly becoming my favorite of the three sports!

Today’s workout:

Plan: 1000y swim

Actual: 1200y swim (another new distance record for me!)

