My workout this morning had me running  for 35 minutes.  I wasn’t sure if I would be getting the run in this morning however – since sometime in the middle of the night there was a huge thunderstorm that went on for quite some time.  I never looked at the clock, so as usual, I assumed it was about time to wake up for the run.  With that, I figured my run would be washed out by the heavy rains.

Well, I fell back to sleep and after a while, the alarm went off.  I hit the snooze once to see if I could hear any rain still – but nothing.  Then I got up, looked outside and saw that the roads were wet, but there was no rain falling.  Yay… I am going running.

I set out for my 35 minute run with a goal of running a negative split each mile during the workout.  I would intenti0nally start out at a slower than normal pace – and I would head uphill for the first mile.  This would keep my heart rate elevated, but my pace would be slower.  Of course going uphill has a second benefit – my second mile would be downhill, thus making it easier to do a negative split.  The real challenge would be the third mile… it would be flat.   My plan worked as expected, the uphill mile was slow, very slow (11:49/mile) the downhill mile was faster (10:07) – but maybe too fast.  I haven’t run a sub 10 minute mile since I started running again.  This worried me.  —  I dug deep though, committed to not walking – and for taking advantage of the slightest of downhill slopes.  With that plan I felt like I had a shot at going under 10:07 for the 3rd mile.  Unfortunately, the final three tenths of a mile were uphill (a slight hill, but up none the less).  I saw my pace dropping… I pushed it… going for it… but alas, my final mile clocked in at a 10:17 pace.  Close, but not quite.

I was pleased with the results – and think I will do this plan again next time I have a morning run of 30-40 minutes.

Oh, one more thing… I passed a sign today while running for someone running for Lt. Gov here in Raleigh.  The sign was for Dan Forest – and had the tagline – Run Forest Run.  I laughed, and kept running.  (side note: If “run forest run” is the best thing you can think of to go on your political signage, I think it is time to seriously rethink your campaign!)

Today’s workout:

Plan: 35 minute run

Actual: 31:46 at an average pace of 10:44

