I look forward to Friday swims.  I head to the pool during lunch – and for some reason on Friday I really enjoy the break.  I guess it has to do with all of the stress of the week and the realization that it is Friday already.  I love sliding into an empty lane, putting on the goggles and pushing off the wall to get in a great workout.  When I am done, I feel exhausted, but great.  I love the full body workout – the no impact or pain in the joints – and the progress I am seeing.

Well, today was no exception.  I got to the pool in record time.  I even found the pool to have 3 empty lanes!  This rarely happens.  Quite often by the end of the workout I am splitting my lane with someone (which has never been an issue…. yet).   Today I was scheduled to do a 700y swim.  700y is one lap shy of a 1/2 mile swim.  If you would have asked me to swim that far just 3 weeks ago I would have laughed.  Today, I did it… and I did it doing some difficult drills.  I started out with a 100y warm up, then did some one arm drills, some catch up drills, and some fist drills.  Finally I ended the session with a 2 x 100y swim where I concentrated on going at a controlled pace, rather than speed.  I wanted to make certain that I had enough fitness to get to the end without stopping.  I am proud to say… I did!  Love it!

Today’s workout:

Plan: 700y swim

Actual: the full 700y.  Felt great

