I woke up this morning with a plan.  The plan involved me not following my usual 4:1 run/walk schedule… instead, I was going to go for no walk breaks at all.  Just power through, show some mental conviction and run (or rather, move forward at a pace that was faster than walking, but clearly not really running by most standards).

Well, the plan worked.  I set out on my ‘run’ and hit the 4 minute mark and told myself to just keep moving.  Then the 10 minute mark came and went… I was doing it.  I hit the 1/2 mark of my workout (12.5 minutes) and turned and headed back home.  Now… by running away from home for 12.5 minutes, I forced myself to run at the same pace or faster if I wanted to be home by my target 25 minutes of running.  Well, I actually ran a negative split on the way home and had to add in another small loop to my run to get the full 25 minutes.  I felt a sense of pride by accomplishing this simple task.  What is crazy is just two years ago I was able to finish a half marathon at a 10 minute pace… now I am struggling to get to an 11 minute pace!  ugh… taking time off sure does kill your fitness.  That is ok though… I am back at it – with some serious goals in front of me.  I can do it… I will do it.

Today’s workout:

Plan: 25 minute run

Actual: 24:0 run for 2.13 miles at a 11:17/mile pace

