Sorry about the horrible title.  😉  Today was a 55 minute bike ride.  This is the longest I have spent on a bike to date.

I met my brother over at the Greenfield Parkway in Garner, where the goal was to get in this 55 minute ride on a road that has very little traffic.  Of course… no one told the weather man that I was planning this!  Today it was nasty outside.  Tons of rain, some light thunder and no let up in the forecast.  I wasn’t going to allow that to get in the way of my workout though.  So I packed up my gear, called my brother and said… let’s do this.  He was a little hesitant – who wouldn’t be, riding in the rain isn’t much fun.  Well, I got to the parkway, unloaded my bike and got going (I knew my brother was going to be a while, so I figured I would start my 55 minutes and meet up with him later).  So, I got on my bike and went out for my first 6 mile loop of the parkway.  I later learned that I did it wrong, but who cares, I was riding.  About 5 minutes into the ride, the skies opened up and buckets of rain came down on me.  Luckily it wasn’t cold, so at least I had that going for me.

After around 20 minutes of riding in the rain, I find my brother.  He actually showed up!  Whoo hoo!  OK, so he unpacks his bike and we head off to do another one of the 6 mile loops (my first loop ended up being over 7 miles, I guess I did do it wrong).  We cruise along with little issue – other than the inch-worm forest we had to ride through!  We enjoyed the ride, the company and the time together.  It was a nice ride.  After the loop, we packed up, chatted for a couple of minutes and then headed home.

All in all – a good day on the bike – even if I was soaked!

Today’s workout:

Plan: 55 minutes on the bike

Actual: 55:00 for 14.30 miles at 15.60mph

